Trustees honored for service to the LISD community

01092024-Board Recognition trustees

Longview Independent School District joins over 1,000 school districts throughout Texas in celebrating January 2024 as School Board Recognition Month, during the Board of Trustees regular meeting Tuesday, Jan. 9th.

Current trustees for Longview ISD are Mr. Michael Tubb (Place 1), Mr. Brett Miller (Place 2), Dr. Samir Germanwala (Place 3), Mrs. Crista Black (Place 4), Mrs. Lateefah Pruitt (Place 5), Mr. Ted Beard (Place 6), and Dr. Troy Simmons (Place 7).

The 2024 School Board Recognition theme is: "Locally Elected, Community Connected," and Longview ISD Superintendent of Schools Dr. James Wilcox said the board's engagement "makes our district stronger and more responsive to the needs of all Longview families."

"Our locally elected Board of Trustees plays a vital role in connecting our schools with the Longview community we serve," he said. "We are grateful for their selfless commitment to representing students' and families' voices as we work together to provide an excellent education for every LISD learner.

Serving as a link between the community and the classroom, school board members are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for public schools. LISD trustees are responsible for an annual budget of more than $100 million, over 8,000 students, and nearly 3,000 staffers.

To honor the more than 7,200 locally elected trustees in Texas, Gov. Greg Abbott has declared January as School Board Recognition Month, and the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) is encouraging all Texas communities to join the celebration by showing appreciation to these men and women.

"Ensuring an excellent education is the work of many, and local school boards collaborate with teachers, parents, and stakeholders to promote state and national standards in ways that reflect the community's values," Gov. Abbott said in his proclamation. "By so doing, they inspire a lifelong love of learning for the next generation of Texas leaders.” 

Gov. Abbott's proclamation encourages Texans to recognize their local school board members.

"Their commitment to education and their communities represents the best of Texas,” he said.

Mr. Dan Troxell, executive director of the Texas Association of School Boards, applauded the efforts of trustees in providing leadership and good governance so that school districts can focus on educating the 5.4 million public schoolchildren in their care.

“School boards play a critical role in shaping the future of our communities,” he said. “They serve as the bridge between the public’s vision for local education and the day-to-day operations of our schools. Trustees work hard to ensure that our schools are responsive to the values and priorities of their communities.”

Public school trustees are the largest group of locally elected officials in the state. These school board members are not paid, volunteering their time and expertise to serve their local communities.  

Although showing recognition should be a year-round process, Dr. Wilcox said taking advantage of the designated month "ensures that these important people receive some of the thanks they deserve."

"Our school board members are volunteers who shoulder critical responsibilities and often make difficult choices for our district, all without pay," he said. "Their goal is always focused on the future success of the children in our district." 

Click here to download the resolution and related documentation.