The Region VII Education Service Center has selected the Longview ISD Board of Trustees as the 2021 Regional School Board of the Year!

Longview ISD trustees named Region VII Board of the Year

Fri Jul 16, 2021

The Region VII Education Service Center has selected the Longview ISD Board of Trustees as the 2021 Regional School Board of the Year in the large school category.

Longview ISD's board will serve as the regional representative in this year’s Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) School Board Awards Program.

Superintendent Dr. James Wilcox nominated the board for the award, stating that "Longview ISD is a destination district in our region thanks to the tireless advocacy and exemplary leadership of our Board of Trustees."

Mrs. Shan Bauer, LISD Board President, said the board was humbled to be selected, adding that "it is an honor and a privilege for us to serve the amazing students, employees, and families of Longview ISD."

The association’s School Board Awards Committee will meet in August to select up to five of the nominated boards to be recognized as Honor Boards, and the overall winner will be announced Sept. 25.

Longview ISD's board consists of President Mrs. Shan Bauer (Place 5), Vice President Mr. Michael Tubb (Place 1), Board Secretary Dr. Troy Simmons (Place 7), Asst. Secretary Dr. Samir Germanwala (Place 3), trustee Mr. Brett Miller (Place 2), trustee Mrs. Ginia Northcutt (Place 4), and trustee Mr. Ted Beard (Place 6).

Serving as a link between the community and classroom, school board members are ordinary people who demonstrate extraordinary dedication to our public schools. Elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for public schools, our trustees are responsible for an annual budget of more than $90 million, over 8,000 students and nearly 3,000 staffers. 

For more information about the Longview ISD Board of Trustees please click here