Heather Gee and Desanka Djurisic have been selected as Longview ISD’s 2020 Teachers of the Year!

Gee, Djurisic named LISD Teachers of the Year

Mon Jun 1, 2020

Heather Gee and Desanka Djurisic have been selected as Longview ISD’s 2020 elementary and secondary Teachers of the Year.

Gee teaches teaches at Longview High, while Djurisic teaches at J.L. Everhart Elementary. The pair will represent the district for the 2020-21 school year, and in June will be considered for Region VII Teacher of the Year.

Superintendent Dr. James Wilcox said the district is "extremely honored to recognize those named Teacher of the Year for each campus – the first step in the 2020 Texas Teacher of the Year selection process."

"It's also significant because the selections were made by their peers," he said. "These individuals are outstanding educators whose efforts and example have inspired their students, their colleagues, and the communities they serve."

Campus Teachers of the Year are chosen during the latter part of each school year by their principals and professional colleagues. A panel of former honorees and district staff then selects district elementary and secondary winners based on essay submissions.

Gee and Djurisic (and other campus Teachers of the Year) will be honored by the district’s Board of Trustees in the fall.

Congratulations to all of our campus Teachers of the Year for 2020!

Montessori Prep: Liza Salas
Bramlette Elementary: Anibol Colon
Hudson PEP Elementary: Sheri Finn
J.L. Everhart Elementary: Desanka Djurisic
Johnston-McQueen Elementary: Lallie Wingo
Ned E. Williams Elementary: Sonya Jones
South Ward Elementary: Rebekkah Hernandez
Ware Elementary: Cristina Mauras
Forest Park Middle: Crystal Lewis
Foster Middle: Franketta Pierce
Judson Middle: Sharon Sypert
Early Grad High: Barry Thompson
Longview High: Heather Gee